top of page

And the winners are ...

We would like to say a big thank you and very well done to everyone who entered the inaugural Louise Rennison National Funny Award.

The submissions were absolutely hilarious - and captured the spirit of the competition so wonderfully.

In memory of beloved author and comedian Louise Rennison, we know she would have been very proud - and thoroughly entertained - by all of you!

Our expert panel of judges had lots of fun reading and watching all your rip roaring entries and were amazed and impressed with the creativity, originality, and downright funny material everyone entered - and clearly worked so hard in putting together.

It’s fair to say you are all winners and the judges had a tricky time narrowing entries down to select overall winners for each category.

Watch the video to see our judges Mark Heywood and Andi Osho reveal the winners for the Louise Rennison National Funny Award 2020 … and see a full list of winners and runners up finalists below.

Louise Rennison National Funny Award Category Winners:

11-14 years of age

· Comedic Writing (Individual)

"Rails: The Best Theme Park Ever"

Written by Rhys Heal, from London

Click below to read now:

Rails the Best Theme Park Ever
Download PDF • 142KB

· Comedic Performance (Individual)

"The Beardy Quizmaster"

Performed by Emily Sheehan, from Staffordshire

· Comedic Writing (Group)

"Do It Yourself"

Written by Jen Mabbott, Kiki Peckham from Manchester

Click below to read now:

Do It Yourself
Download PDF • 91KB

15-18 years of age

· Comedic Writing (Individual)


Written by Rosie Parkin, from Dorset

Click below to read now:

Download PDF • 85KB

· Comedic Performance (Individual)

"The News Today"

Performed by Robert, from London

· Comedic Performance (Group)

"Lestah Lockdown"

Performed by Zach Shaw, Jameelah Faisal, Raymond Smith and Megan Jones, from Leicester

With a huge well done and congratulations to our runner up finalists:

  • Abigail Tuson from Cambridgeshire,

  • Adam Rafael Holmes from Bognor Regis,

  • Amy Tetsell from London,

  • Esther Campbell from Wakefield,

  • Julia Coyle from West Yorkshire,

  • Tilly Jones from Rayleigh.

All winners and finalists have been contacted individually with details about how to claim their prizes and everyone has been provided individual feedback on their entries from our expert panel of judges - which we hope you find helpful!

Thank you once again to everyone who took part in this year's award. Keep writing, keep creating and we hope you continue to show your funny side!


bottom of page